2021 Recipients
As one of our longest serving members at 67 years, Dennis Leary received his first PHF Award in 1976.  Here Dennis is, 45 years later, still leading by example of what an exemplary Rotarian is.  Dennis has set a high standard of Service in our club.
On the left, Foundation Chair, Jim Cook presents another Paul Harris Award to Dennis.  To the right, Past President Rob, presents the second PHF Award in one year to Dennis.  Thank you Dennis.



Jim Cook Receives 3rd Paul Harris Fellow Award

Jim Cook's efforts in our local communities is amazing.  Jim is one of the most active members of our club and is always there to offer any and all support.  Jim has the family involved and the Insurance Business too.   His commitment has never wavered.  Thank you Jim!



Tim Cook, receives his second PHF Award from President, Rob.  If we didn't have his youthful ideas and knowledge of computers, the transition to Zoom would have been much more difficult.  Instead our club didn't skip a beat and transitioned to online meeting and now hybrid meetings without missing a step. Thank you Tim.


Barb McGowan is surprised with her second PH Award.  Her club service is offered with no expectations.  Yet, the award from her piers is an amazing feeling.  Thank you Barb.  

Dave Stirling has been the lead Chair of our Student Scholarship.  It is with his dedication to our   community students at Delta High School that the program is so successful.  Dave participates in all activities and is always there to honor our long existing club traditions.  He is joined by President Jan, and Foundation Chair, Jim Cook.  Thank you Dave.  

Paul Harris Fellow - Award Recipients

Congratulations & Thank You for Your Service

  2021 -  Tim Cook, 2nd   2004 -  Richard Hasenkamp   1992 -  James C. Hansen  
    Barbara McGowan, 2nd     Douglas Hemly     Benjamin J. Himebauch  
    Dennis Leary, 5th     Mark Rogerson     William E. Slawson  
    Dave Stirling, 2nd     William G. Schauer        
    James Cook, 3rd         1991 -  Charles Eason  
  2019 -  James Cook, 2nds   2003 -  Dr. John S. Noe     George C. "Tim" Wilson  
    Julie Lancaster, 2nd     Thom Wiseman     Bertram C. "Short" Wheeler  
                James A. Dahlberg  
  2018 -  Barbara McGowan   2002 -  Herman Fisher        
    Douglas Hsai, 10     Leslie F. Lyman   1989 -  William Barry  
          Diana Perham     Glenn G. Gordon, Jr.  
  2017 -  Robert Globus           Marie A. Leary  
        2001 -  Daniel Wilson     Joseph H. Harper  
  2016 -  Mark Rogerson, 2nd     Bruce Towne        
    Doris Specht         1988 -  Joe E. Green, Jr.  
        1999 -  Chris Fulster     Harvey T. Lyman  
  2015 -  John Stutz     Josephine Lyman        
    Brent Tadman         1987 -  Donald McClain  
        2001 -  Daniel Wilson        
  2014 -  Kim Tranum     Bruce Towne   1984 -  Robert E. Hart  
    David Stirling           Philip G. Deback  
        1999 -  Chris Fulster     Horace D. Towne  
  2013 -  Tim Cook     Josephine Lyman        
    Chris Davis         1981 -  Robert James  
        1998 -  Dr. Norman Spalding        
  2012 -  Annette Robinson     James F. Cook   1980 -  W.R. Darsie  
          Kathryn A. Wheeler        
  2011 -  Brad van Loben Sels     Derrell Kelso   1979 -  Robert E. Collins  
    Brenda Guy              
        1997 -  Frank E. Schmiedel   1977 Darrell T. Mealer  
  2009 -  Rev. Larry Emery           Leland O. Hanson  
    Julie Lancaster              
        1996 -  Irving A. Wilcox   1976 -  Dennis W. Leary  
  2008 - Jane Slawson              
        1995 -  James A. Gualco   1975 -  Frank Judy  
  2007 -  Ophelia Huestis     Gilbert Labrie        
    William Schauer, Jr              
        1994 -  Dennis Leary        
          Flora Young Spalding, PH.D.        
          Guido Pieretti        

The Origins of the Paul Harris Fellow Recognition:  

From the Rotary International Website - Rotary History:

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to the Rotary Foundation

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships. 

A.Z. Baker, 1955-56 RI president, admires a newly minted Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the 1969 Rotary Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year. 

Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the Rotary Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of former Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin. They are also eligible to buy a Paul Harris Fellow medallion. 

Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honoring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, Vann Taylor, who was serving as a district governor, made a donation in her name in honor of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow. 

Introduced in 1984, the blue-stone Multiple Paul Harris Fellow pin recognizes additional donations up to $6,000. Right: Red-stone Multiple Paul Harris Fellow pins were introduced in 1988 to bridge the gap between the blue five-stone pin and Major Donor recognition levels.

At the International Assembly in 1979, incoming RI President James Bomar challenged each Rotary club to make one non-Rotarian a Paul Harris Fellow. The Rotary Club of Pikesville, Maryland, USA, responded by making a donation in the name of Mother Teresa in 1980. The entertainer Pearl Bailey also became a Paul Harris Fellow through a joint effort of the Rotary clubs in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. 

Many other notable figures have been named Paul Harris Fellows, including U.S. President Jimmy Carter, Russian President Boris Yeltsin, U.S. astronaut James Lovell, UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar, and polio vaccine developer Jonas Salk.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006.